I love bacon.

October 31, 2010 § 6 Comments

Post-vegetarianism, I kind of expected my diet to be more or less the same, only now eating meat occasionally while at a restaurant. Wrong. I eat meat all the time. And my favorite?

Bacon.

I don’t know what it is about bacon, but it just makes everything more satisfying. And (I might be stretching it here, but considering how much I love bacon, I’m just going to go for it) I would argue that bacon is healthy. Why?

a) Fat doesn’t make you fat. Too many calories make you fat.

b) Our bodies need fat. Even saturated fat.

c) Fat keeps you full longer than just carbohydrates.

d) Bacon is natural!

Okay, even if I couldn’t justify eating bacon, I would still eat it. On almost anything.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 6 Responses to I love bacon.

  • Alex says:

    I love this post as much as I love bacon.

  • Tina says:

    I love this! I always feel like such an oddball because I prefer eating vegetarian style meals…and red meat when I do eat meat. I don’t care too much for chicken or pork (although bacon is different). Just goes to show – to each her own and we can all be healthy with balance. 🙂

  • lisaou11 says:

    I too love bacon. and I too love that cupcake. There’s a cupcake place by where I work that sells a cupcake with bacon–very wonderful!

  • 40daykedge says:

    Fantastic homage to eating bacon. Not that you need a modification, but may I suggest for going with the nitrate-free kind? 🙂

    • quietisthenewloud says:

      What the hell are nitrates?! you’re scaring me!

      • 40daykedge says:

        Just saw this… nitrates are essentially a salt, so in meats such as bacon they are used in the preservation process. Too many processed meats have been linked to an increase in stomach cancer.

        I’m the type of person who belongs to a food coop to ensure that I get grass fed beef and naturally raised meats. I look out for that kind of stuff.

        I still love bacon and I try to find the ‘cleanest’ I can. Not intended to scare, sorry if I freaked you out.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I love bacon. at silence is simple.

meta

