baking: my favorite way to procrastinate.

November 17, 2010 § 2 Comments

I’ve realized recently that the more homework I have due, the more enticing baking sounds. Monday night, in lieu of writing an important paper, I procrastinated in only the best way: by baking. The first recipe that caught my eye was for Caramel Apple Pecan Muffins. Considering whatever I bake is primarily devoured by my boyfriend and brothers, and unsure this recipe would please my demographic, I also chose to bake the safe-sounding Oatmeal Scotchies (from my go-to baking blog, Baked Perfection).

(not my photo)

Well, I am glad that I had that back-up plan. I made the Scotchies first, without a hitch (I am told they are delicious). Then, I meticulously chopped the apples, caramels, and pecans for the muffins, poured the batter into the tin, and stuck them in the oven for a good ten minutes. That’s when I noticed something sitting on the counter, something that I had inadvertently left out of the batter. A softened stick of butter. A vital ingredient to any delicious baked good, especially since I generally steer away from “healthifying” sweet recipes (remember my demographic).

Needless to say, they didn’t turn out as awesome as I had hoped. Evidence: only three Scotchies remain, while only two of the muffins have been eaten.  I’ve been told (by a friend who ventured to try one, even after I relayed that they were “adult muffins”) that they were “fine” and “actually pretty good”. But that doesn’t really cut it for me.

So, due to my paper being extended until Monday, I’m going to redeem myself and procrasti-bake some more muffins. Maybe tonight. Probably blueberry muffins.

Cyndie

P.S. Blogging must be my other favorite way to procrastinate, because I’ve been sitting around in my work-out clothes for two hours.

§ 2 Responses to baking: my favorite way to procrastinate.

  • I can find so many ways to procrastinate when I need to be studying! I’m right there with ya.

  • blogging (recently) and snapfishing photos to friends and family is surely my go-to procrastination techniques. and it’s usually procrastinating something I actually want to do, but that requires a time commitment of, say, 27 seconds…

    I read your “about” page, and I think you should just keep writing whatever makes you feel good- that’s the point, right?

    cheers!
    Meri

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading baking: my favorite way to procrastinate. at silence is simple.

meta

