snow is really uncool.

December 1, 2010 § 2 Comments

We had our first snowfall of the winter this morning. I knew it was coming, but it didn’t soften the blow. As a Michigander, I get to enjoy snow 4-5 months out of the year, so its not quite a novelty or anything. But, for some reason, my 9:00 AM class echoed gleeful children, excited for the return of the cold, wet, powdery stuff that turns to brown slush under (hopefully) boot-clad feet.

From a snowstorm in 2007 that left us stranded in our homes for three days.

Listen, I can kind of understand. I liked snow in 1999, when I was 10, and heavy snow meant sledding on the neighbor’s modest hill, then warming up inside with hot cocoa and marshmallows (with a large marshmallow to cocoa ratio). The snow would creep up under my snow pants and inside my mittens, but I didn’t care because I was intent on building an elaborate snow fort in the front yard.

But things are different now. So, when I hear rosy-cheeked classmates greeting each other with “Yayyy snowww!!!” I kind of want to punch them in the face. I mean, who gets excited that they have to wake up 20 minutes earlier to defrost their windshield, thaw out their car, and scrape off the windows? Who likes driving 15 MPH slower than normal because the roads are slippery, they only have three snow tires, and they don’t want to hit a mailbox? Who enjoys trudging through the slush with non-waterproof boots to get to class, shielding their eyes from the blinding whiteness and covering their face with a scarf as the malevolent snow slaps them in the face?

Well, I’ve noticed that many of the people cheering for the snow are the girls who always wear their Pink sweatpants tucked into their Ugg boots, regardless of the weather or occasion. I mean, if there was ONE TIME to justify their fashion choices, it would be now. (But all you others rejoicing in the snow with no excuses, you’ll come around soon enough.)

In an effort to make this irrelevant post somewhat positive, snow can be pretty from a safe distance. I can enjoy it tonight as I sit cozily in my heated room, sipping on some hot Gingerbread Tea while I work on my final papers. Because I really don’t want to leave the house again.

Cyndie

§ 2 Responses to snow is really uncool.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading snow is really uncool. at silence is simple.

meta

