how to grow up.

December 6, 2010 § 2 Comments

Whatever you know today, begin again tomorrow.

It sounds simple, but it’s not. Some days I feel as though I learn or experience something (from failures, successes, realizations, or education) that will change the way I live life. The problem is that I expect this to happen automatically. What I need to do is live intentionally. I need to remember what I’ve learned and deliberately put it into practice.

A professor shared this quote with our class at the beginning of this semester. I’m not big on “inspirational quotes” – they generally go in one ear and out the other. But this one stuck with me, and I wrote it down in my notebook. I came across it today and had to share it, because I think it’s important to grow and go forwards in life, instead of going around in circles making the same mistakes or even worse – living stagnantly. I think that is what happens when I live life unintentionally.

an appropriately cheesy picture from my backpacking trip in california in 2009. you know, because life is like a mountain or something.

I’d like to think that this year I’ve moved forward and matured in many ways. Yes, I still make some of the same mistakes, but I’m growing enough to not get discouraged by them (I also realize that there are always new mistakes to make). As long as I’m not stuck in the same place, I’m happy.

On that note, I’m off to write one of many papers due this week and next – because procrastination is one problem I have yet to overcome.

Cyndie

§ 2 Responses to how to grow up.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading how to grow up. at silence is simple.

meta

