black swan. [movie review]

January 9, 2011 § 4 Comments

I’m going to make this review short and sweet, because I am honestly bored just thinking of this movie.

Alex and I went to see Black Swan a couple weeks ago. The film got rave reviews and plenty of publicity, and my interest piqued after I read a couple of articles addressing the strict exercise and eating regimens Natalie Portman and Mila Kunis endured to portray realistic ballerinas. I mistakenly believed that the film would give insight into the life and minds of professional ballerinas.

I don’t really know what this movie is supposed to be about, really. The movie itself was pretty, I’ll give it that, but I never felt attached to it. I nearly forgot I watched this movie the following day. I left wanting much, much more out of the characters. Portman’s character is troubled, but we aren’t given any reason to understand her or sympathize. She merely presents herself as a crazy person. Kunis’ character (see, I don’t even remember their names) isn’t really a character at all, but more of a plot device.

The trailer makes Black Swan seem thriller-y, but I would probably describe it as just weird. The plot was convoluted; a few subplots arose and then never amounted to anything. Consequently, the climax of the movie disappointed. There was no twist, no a-ha moment, no resolution, only a cliched end that cemented my poor feelings toward the film.

I know a ton of people loved this movie, including critics, but in retrospect I wish a friend had told me to save my money. So here I am, being that friend to you. Save your money.

—- Cyndie

Tagged: , , ,

§ 4 Responses to black swan. [movie review]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading black swan. [movie review] at silence is simple.

meta

